Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Art on Allen: Bansky, NeckFace, and Alex Cao

I am lucky enough to live in Chinatown on the edge of the lower east side, and conduct most of my daily errands walking up and down Allen St. The other day I realized I walk past quite a bit of art. And I had my camera. So I took pictures and here is what I saw, a little about each artist and their websites
ALEX CAO past Delancy on Allen

I walk by this guys studio/store/gallery/whatever it is all the time- Its right between White
Slab and Congee Village. Everytime I go past he has some kind of black and white photo of a
celebrity in the window. However on closer inspection I see that these are made up of tiny little
portraits of someone who has something to do with the larger portrait- i.e. Andy Warhol made
up of tiny Maos, Marylin Monroe made up of tiny JFKs, I forget the other ones but u get it. I
Looked at his website and evidently he's a commercial photographer (who must make a lot of
money to have his own spot on Delancey and Allen) but he doesnt feature any of his artsy pieces
his website. Anyway check him out- I like his Photos because they're a lot of fashiony faces, much
much like my work.


NECKFACE past the Tenement Museum behind a chain fence

I see Neckface's shit around the neighborhood quite a bit. As a matter of fact he tried to tag
next to Banksy's piece (which is the next artist) but they painted over it. Whoever "they" are.
Anyway he's a young artist with that "ten year old" style. He's a favorite of Juxtapoz magazine,
he's 3 years younger than me, and he's persistant. Anyway check him out.


BANKSY right after Canal in front of an Asian restaurant supply store

So Banksy was in town recently for an opening and did one of his pieces on this wall.
UNFORTUNATELY (or not) other little assholes tagged over it spoiling the effect. However is
that wrong? The Shepard Fairey Mural met the same fate however that brings up an interesting debate:
If these guys started as illegal graff artists in the classic rebellious style- but now are rich and
sponsored by Target and having shows all over the world, then I think its the young artists
influenced by them paying homage. So obviously Im divided because part of me wants to see the
work clean and as it is supposed to, and part of me likes the fact that the next generation
is carrying on the graffiti tradition.

So if you get a chance take a lil walk down Allen, there are also a lot of restaurants, bars
galleries and stores to browse, especially a block over on Orchard. :)

Sunday, May 9, 2010

GALLERY WEEK: Tokidoki, Deluxx FLUXX, and Sex With Robots

GALLERY WEEK IN NYC
Its always some art shit here, right? But tha
ts why I like living here soooo these are three things that filled my day up on the beautiful Friday May 7th of Gallery Week, Mercury in Retrograde be damned. WARNING- for men reading my blog, especially if you are straight please proceed to the second section of this article, which contains more man friendly content, by looking for the red 2.
FIRST of all I WILL have my own makeup line some day. And that deciscion was solidified in my mind by divine inspiration when taking my
usual route through the Union Square Sephora (enter on 4th av between 17th and 18th streets then slip through and around, a spritz here, some glitter there, gloss everywhere, and boom leave out the 17th st side and slip into Barnes and Knoble to bat your lashes at the brooding guy browsing through the art magazines) But I digress.
Im looking for some colored eyeliner when BAM- what do I see right in front of me but a FULL FANTASY TOKIDOKI MAKEUP DISPLAY. Now I love Tokidoki. for those of you that dont know its created in the spirit of Japanese young culture by and Italian- genius Simone Legno. http://www.tokidoki.it -check it out



I used for Donutella and Choco Cromatico Eyeshadow for my eyes, the Sabochan Perfetto Eyeliner, and Cactus Friends LipInk in Fantastico lipgloss- and the kicker is the lip stains and eyeliner are packaged and applied like MARKERS. Simone Legno is an artist get it/ Markers? Genius.

2 See how easy that was? THEN I shayshenayed over to the
Faile and Bast Deluxx FLUXX Arcade on Allen. I loved it. It had been blinking at me as I passed it all week- be it by taxi,15 bus or foot- as I did my daily errands which cause me to go up and down Allen all day I kept seeing this flashing thing at me that said Arcade. Then I read about it. Then I went in and played and took pictures.
I think it is a great contemporary exhibition. WAY better then any bullshit Ive seen at the New Museum lately. As a matter of fact I would love to give these two three floors at the New Museum and see what kind of visual ineractive art whoppers they would feed to the masses. After that last guy (Urs Fischer) who did the giant shits and the melting piano ANYTHING would look good. (btw I loved the mirror boxes at that show- Im not a hater)
They made it a total experience with a 7 games in the front and a blacklight foosball table in the back. There were a lot of noise and lights so I was glad I was by myself so I could really have one on one interaction with the show. Each game is the shell of games we (if we are over 20) probably played at arcades, supermarkets, the skating rink, wherever. We know the joysticks and buttons and fake guns- but they've used it as their medium and reprogramed these to be art games, seemingly under your control but really you are being sucked in to the artists control playing with you and his images engaging you. Awsome mind fuck. BUT to top that off its totally POP and collage looking with familiar images of beauties and beasts sliced up and dancing on the screen in front of you, on the walls, on the floor, and in the well composed music individual to each game. Its how I like my art: pretty, meaningful, and fun
.
Last I went to my girl Gia's night at Amnesia called "Sex with Robots" where she paints these naked girls to look like robots then they walk around and dance while people get their drink and dance on. Needless to say love it, I will be involved in the future, and love that tiny ass bitch.

One love from Chinatown- Keepin you up to date on Crazytown

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Review of HBO's "How To Make It In America"-AKA A BIG OL MALE FANTASY


Soooooooooo...first of all do you have cable? If you dont you probably dont know about this show How To Make It In America- especially if you are striving (not struggling, dont like to use that word) in New York City as an artist, designer, singer, musician, curator, writer, producer, etc. etc. etc. Anything creative. Anyway if you do make room for that 60$ DVR bill and see this or know about surfthechannel.com lets talk about this fuckin show.
It comes off all stylish- the opening is like an urban outfitter's add made out with fader magazine. I like it. But I distrust it. So I watch the first five episodes. And you know what?
I still distrust it BUT I want to be on it, lol- and the main guy and his five o clock shadow annoy me but his latino friend reminds me of a bunch of guys i know who are trying to make it in New York and always have a scheme or an idea and endless hope.
I have to talk about the awesome redeeming characters- Martha Plimpton and Luis Guzman are the only ones who are real- they are the seasoned actors. I still appreciate the story line though- late twenties following your dreams. Especially the scene where the young jean makers go to talk to John Varvatos and his lackie tells them to give up. They get in the elevator and they're like fuck that- thats what it takes.
But my real beef MY REAL BEEF- who the fuck are these girls they hang out with. EVERY SINGLE WOMAN IN THIS SHOW HAS IT EASY FUCKIN PEASY. The main dudes ex is a successful interior designer, their art gallery runnin skinny bitch friend has a rich dad that she doesnt take money from- cause running a gallery is so lucrative, especially when you just start one. And of course there are endless gorgeous young women at their house parties- but these guys are broke? I dont think so. The only woman I really love is Martha Plimpton- who plays brilliantly the designer the main dudes ex works for. She's clever, crazy and believable.
So I'm gonna keep making it in New York and keep watching to see if this show gets better (dont judge me ).

Sunday, February 21, 2010

Chelsea Openings 2/18/10

Thursday I hopped on the train out of Chinatown and ventured over to Chelsea for some free wine...er I mean some Art Openings. I like to go see who is selling what for ten times the amount of my rent- it inspires me to keep up my awsomeness as an artist extrordinaire. As some of you may know gallery openings in Chelsea are typically from 6-8, and if one wants to drink one tries to show up sooner rather than later. Ever since I moved to New York I love going to openings in Chelsea, especially on a Thursday when there are dozens going on between 20th and 25th street and 9th and tenth avenues. (the best place to check for openings and shows is artforum.com gallery guide) I stayed on 24th and 35th street and hit up about 7 galleries in an hour. I saw some good, some great, and some forgettable. After about 5 wines and a beer I was ready to head back home and digest what I saw so I could tell the blog world all about it, and this is the best of what I saw:





Kyle Staver at Lohin Geduld Gallery




Good show full of paintings- paintings with light and people in them that werent boring. I thought this was interesting and they had Pelegrino along with the white wine and these things make me happy. Plus I met the artist, an enthusiastic woman in her 50s that had a nose like the figures in her paintings. Thats how I spotted her. And I told her that. She wiggled her nose and looked at her paintings and said, "are you a painter?" and I said, "yep" and that was the end of it... bad story....



George Rickey at Marlborough Gallery



AMAZING to say the least. I spent the most time at this one. It was visually stunning. George Rickey was a kinetic sculptor in the 60s through to the end of last century. In a room full of people I spaced out watching "Seascape III"- Edward Scissorhand like spikes gently moving up and down like the sea. The fact that someone could create such delicately moving sculptures out of big pieces (and little of pieces) of metal is great art.





Gary Simmons at Metro Pictures




Walked in and out. Nice concept, big paintings, smeared visions, I like the black.






Jacco Olivier at Marianne Boesky Gallery




Though George Rickey was incredible, this show inspired me the most. This artist truly combined painting with video and it was incredible- totally contemporary and painterly at the same time. There were time lapse videos of paintings that seemlessly melted into each other. I sat and drank my Budweiser, listened to Beach House on my ipod, and cruised the universe in paint that Olivier created. My new task is to animate my own paintings. XOXO to Jacco Olivier.

Monday, February 1, 2010

DRAGULATOR: GO DRAG YOURSELF!!


Gentlemen Start Your Engines, And May The Best WOMAN Win!!
I am just (Lady) GAGA for Rupaul's Drag Race- and Season 2 starts tonight at 9 on Logo. But even if you don't have cable (sux for you) you can go to http://www.dragulator.com, scan in a pic and Drag up some creativity. I've been making everyone fierce from my best friend to my boyfriend (His Drag Name is Trouble Woodbine, down bitch) and so should you. Its lots of fun and when your done you can upload your pics of fantasy right up to facebook. Here's some sample queens I made. ENJOY!

Sunday, January 31, 2010

Under The Bridge Show at 47 Gallery 47 Monroe Gallery Lofts 47






January 15th I tried my hand at curating my first show. It featured Mirandom, Marthalicia, Josie Zetina, Lissette Barros, Gigi Bio, Lexi Bella, and Danielle Mastrion. It was a fabulous turnout and not the last. Thanx Ladies- Here's the write up about the show:

47 Monroe Gallery Lofts Presents:
Under The Bridge:
Downtown Art

An Exhibition of some of New York's best female
emerging artists today

The word recession is used a lot these days to talk of negative situations, however history has shown us that "these uncertain times" are times that art and culture thrive. Much like the late 70s and early 80s the artists, musicians, and New York culture thrived in abandoned buildings and loft spaces during another "uncertain time" economically in this city. Economic times like these prove who is in it for the creation of something new and refreshing when there's nothing else to lose and the herd is thinning. This is when true generations of artists make their mark.
The idea of "Downtown" being a place of convergence of creativity is a concept born in New York City. In the 20th century from the Village which nurtured Abstract Expressionism and Jazz half a century ago, to the L.E.S. giving us Basquiat, Madonna, Blondie and Keith Haring around the time everyone in this show was born, the idea of something being "Downtown" was synonymous with being cool and making things happen. This shows goal is to continue this tradition into the 21st century.
This show is about 7 artists and photographers making their mark in New York NOW. They are painters, photographers, djs, fashion designers, graphic designers, teachers, mothers, and artists. They work, struggle, and succeed with their visions and create a new community and a new movement in today's Downtown Art.



Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Lexi Bella New Year Round Up










I know its the end of January and lots of things have been Crazy in Crazytown for the last few months, but Im plugging away at this blog and my promise for the New Year is to not only to become rich and famous, but be diligent about updating this blog and bringing you some good shit.

November brought with it a solo show for yours truly at the new 47 Monroe Gallery Lofts in Chinatown. It was the first opening the gallery had had and was a success. The silent auction proved lucrative and drinking and danced ensued. People stayed into the wee hours of the morning as the discussions about art and smoke became more slurred.
This December I couldn't spare the time I did last year for Miami Art Basel so I held down the fort in NYC and attended Miss Marthalicia's Holiday Party the day of the snowstorm. I had no idea as I lugged my plate of Xmas cookies from Chinatown to |76th st. in the Bronx how fucking far away it was, but an houre later I was drinking and eating with some favorite art people deep in the comfort of her basement.
Holidays passed, as they do.
New Year's passed, I blacked out around 4.
And here we are- Im all fresh and ready for some next decade partying and bullshitting in the New Year...and reporting it all on here.